Hawaiian Shirt Highlights 2018 Promotional Schedule

O’s fans continue to sit and twiddle our thumbs waiting for the team to toss us any sort of bone to get excited about in 2018, and today the team finally made an announcement!

No, they didn’t sign anybody you’ve ever heard of – or anybody you haven’t, for that matter. They haven’t signed Manny Machado or Jonathan Schoop to extensions. Ditto Dan Duquette or Buck Showalter.

This “news” doesn’t even come from the front office as a matter of fact, but from the Marketing & Promotions department.

Here are your 2018 promotion and giveaway highlights at Oriole Park at Camden Yards:

Sunday April 1 vs. Minnesota: Retro Oriole Bird Bank (fans 14 and under)

Orioles retro bird bank

Sunday May 13 vs. Tampa Bay: Mother’s Day Pashmina Scarf (first 20,000 fans 18 and over)

Monday May 28 vs. Washington: O’s Memorial Day T-Shirt (all fans)

Wednesday May 30 vs. Washington: O’s Cooler Backpack (first 20,000 fans 15 and over)

Tuesday June 12 vs. Boston: Dylan Bundy Bobblehead (first 25,000 fans 15 and over)

Friday June 15 vs. Miami: O’s Floppy Hat (first 20,000 fans 21 and over)

Sunday June 17 vs. Miami: O’s Necktie (first 20,000 fans 18 and over)

Monday June 25 vs. Seattle: Buck “Snow”alter Snow Globe (first 25,000 fans 15 and over)

Saturday June 30 vs. Anaheim: Birdland Hawaiian Shirt (first 35,000 fans 15 and over)

Orioles Hawaiian Shirt

Finally! The O’s first did this giveaway a few years back, and fans who missed out on them have been kicking themselves (ourselves) ever since. You can STILL get them for 150+ on eBay.

Saturday July 14 vs. Texas: Maryland Flag Script Jersey (first 35,000 fans 15 and over)

Orioles black script jersey.

The Birds gave away this jersey in white last year. I grabbed one, and was impressed with the quality – the letters are sewn on, not printed. My one complaint this year (assuming the jersey will be the same quality): last year ALL fans got them. This year, first 35,000. Why not just order those last 8,000 or whatever to ensure everybody gets one?

Apply this complaint of mine to just about every giveaway here, but especially the “first 35,000” ones.

Saturday July 28 vs. Tampa Bay: Trey Mancini Bobblehead (first 25,000 fans 15 and over)

Sunday July 29 vs. Tampa Bay: Orioles Garden Gnome (first 25,000 fans 15 and over)

Saturday September 15 vs. Chicago (AL): O’s Lightweight Hoodie (first 35,000 fans 15 and over)

Friday September 28 vs. Houston: O’s Coaster Set (first 20,000 fans 15 and over)

Orioles coasters

Saturday September 29 vs. Houston: O’s Puffy Vest (first 35,000 fans 15 and over)

Sunday September 30 vs. Houston: O’s Duffle Bag (first 20,000 fans 15 and over)

Last year, the Birds had several great giveaways where ALL fans in attendance received the item. In addition to the script jersey I talked about above, all fans also got the Manny Machado starting lineup figures and the 25th anniversary OPACY replica ballparks. This year, every giveaway on the list – sans t-shirts – are limited to the first 20,000-35,000 fans.

In a year when the team looks, by all indications, to be…let’s say, “challenged,” to fill the park, you’d think making fans coming to the park for these giveaways certain that they will be able to get their hands on them without showing up hours early would be a no-brainer.

Not in Birdland, of course.

Here are other notable dates on the promotional calendar:

 

Fireworks Dates

Friday May 11

Friday June 1

Friday June 15

Friday June 29

Friday July 13

Friday July 27

Friday August 10

Friday August 24

 

Kids Run the Bases Dates

Sunday April 1, 22, 29

Sunday May 13

Sunday June 3, 17

Sunday July 1, 15, 29

Sunday August 12, 26

Sunday September 16, 30

 

T-Shirt Dates (all fans)

Wednesday May 9

Monday May 28

Thursday July 26

Wednesday August 15

Thursday September 13

See the entire calendar here.

This entry was posted in Bird Feed, Blog View, Featured by Derek Arnold. Bookmark the permalink.

About Derek Arnold

Derek Arnold
RSR/ESR Senior Editor. Derek is originally from and a current resident of Pasadena, MD. He’s a graduate of UMBC and has been a lifelong Baltimore sports fan. In 2007 he founded B’More Birds’ Nest, where he wrote about the Ravens and Orioles before joining RSR in 2012. Derek tells anyone...more

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Hot off the street

Tuesday’s O’s Links: Chicago Swarms Manny
Tuesday’s O’s Links: Chicago Swarms Manny

After another disappointing series in Boston (where they're now 1-6 this season), the Birds flew to Chicago for a matchup of teams that look to be vying for the number one pick in next year's draft. T...read more

The Case for an Orioles “Opener”
The Case for an Orioles “Opener”

The Tampa Bay Rays turned heads on Saturday night when they opted to use set-up man Sergio Romo as their starting pitcher against the Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim. Romo had made 589 big league appear...read more

Series Preview: Orioles (14-32) @ White Sox (13-30)
Series Preview: Orioles (14-32) @ White Sox (13-30)

After dropping three of four to the Red Sox at Fenway Park, the Orioles are now set to kick off a four-game series in the Windy City against the White Sox. The Orioles (14-32) will be aiming for bett...read more

Ramirez Impressive, but Tides Drop Two of Three
Ramirez Impressive, but Tides Drop Two of Three

SERIES RECAP: INDIANAPOLIS INDIANS @ NORFOLK TIDES, MAY 15-17 The Norfolk Tides returned home to Harbor Park on Wednesday night for a three game series against the Indianapolis Indians. The club drop...read more

The Orioles are Still Going to Screw This Up Somehow
The Orioles are Still Going to Screw This Up Somehow

Despite their recent "successful" home stand, in which they went 5-3 - a nice positive turn for them, mediocre for any true contender - the Orioles of 2018 are still a lost cause. They're a woeful 13-...read more

View More